From digital transformation roadmap to global practice. Evonik drives digitization at global production sites with Testify.

After the pilot phase at two production sites, Testify was rolled out to more than 20 sites worldwide within a year, enabling it to support the planned digitization strategy in a timely and cost-efficient manner.


Alternative Text
Über Evonik


Evonik is a global leader in specialty chemicals. Its credo: to make life better, day by day. Active in over 100 countries worldwide and with more than 33,000 employees, Evonik's goal is to create innovative, value-adding and sustainable solutions for customers.

The digitization success story at Evonik.

The company is driving forward the digital transformation of its production, supply chain and asset lifecycle processes with a comprehensive and integrated digital agenda. In the course of creating dedicated digitization roadmaps with input from different areas of the company such as production, logistics, laboratory and engineering, a package of measures was put together to drive forward the digital transformation. This also involved the digitization of predominantly paper-based processes. A need for a software solution to document and control internal processes using digital checklists was quickly derived from this. And from that point on, Testify was put to use.

The initial situation at Evonik.


The recording and documentation of plant tours and safety inspections, for example, was mainly conducted in paper-based form at Evonik production sites. This was resource-intensive and resulted in the creation of information silos.

Predominantly paper-based processes.


Up to now, the documentation of processes has been predominantly on paper and stored in folders in order to comply with the legally prescribed retention period of up to 30 years.

Although paper documentation fulfills the documentation requirements imposed by several parties, data in paper form can only be processed into information with additional manual effort. The scanning, printing and filing processes also led to an increase in media disruptions. In addition, the storage of files generated costs and tied up resources. Although traceability and auditability were given, they could be improved through the use of digital solutions.

The potential of digital checklist software was quickly recognized in order to achieve process improvements while at the same time conserving resources.

Alternative Text
Alternative Text

Smart collaboration at
global production sites.


The potential for global deployment of Testify was already recognized during the proof of concept at two locations in Marl and Wesseling. For a scalable, global rollout, the technical conditions on the part of the IT infrastructure and interfaces had to be created. Therefore, an internal strategy for top-down implementation was defined.

Step by step to the
global deployment of Testify.


Fast rollout in over 20 areas.


The rollout of the Testify software was started with a proof of concept (PoC) in plants at two Evonik production sites, Marl and Wesseling, to record the plants' requirements and evaluate the software.

After the successful PoC phase and evaluation of the potential savings that could be achieved by using the software, the pilot phase was taken up in less than 6 months in 10 additional plants worldwide, which was also very highly successful.

Testify is now in use on over 20 sites in countries such as Belgium, China, USA, New Zealand and Germany.

Alternative Text
Alternative Text

Cross-divisional digitization
of analog processes.


After the introduction of Testify, it was possible, among other things, to document plant tours, safety inspections, and S-O-S tours (safety-order-cleanliness) in a wide variety of areas such as laboratories, production, technical facilities, logistics, and catering in a mobile and digital format.

Deviations can be recorded directly on the tablet via an intuitive web app and assigned to the responsible employee in order to resolve the deviation as quickly as possible.

A central office coordinates the use of Testify and thus the smart collaboration.


Thanks to the flexible software solution, the software was rolled out to 20 areas worldwide from a central location within a year. Evonik introduced a multi-stage implementation process to get the software up and running in the respective areas within less than two weeks.

The process usually starts with a kick-off meeting to record the requirements of the use case to be mapped. This is followed by training sessions for the key users, the setup of the software solution, and finally the training of the end users by the key users.

Andreas Lindner is digital Partner in the division technology & infrastructure and is responsible for the rollout of Testify at Evonik: Employees of a team around Lindner are contact persons for the introduction and implementation of use cases in the Testify software. They are responsible for the entire rollout, documenting the requirements, preparing the work areas, and training key users.

A well thought-out support concept also ensures support beyond the rollout. Internal communication channels are used to address support issues related to Testify, which are then processed in a time-efficient manner by contact persons in Germany and China.

Alternative Text

"The tool makes the benefits of digitization visible in our field in a simple and very cost-efficient way, and we will roll out Testify in other operations as well!"


Alternative Text
Friedrich Morlock,
Digitization manager, Evonik

Enterprise functionalities
for international use.


MS Azure Cloud Hosting.

To comply with compliance guidelines, Testify is operated entirely in Evonik's IT environment via MS Azure Cloud Hosting. This allows the high data protection requirements to be met and enables data and processes to be managed internally.

Multi Language Setting.

The integrated Multi Language Setting allows a flexible translation of the checklists into the desired languages without changing the database. With the upload of a language file, new language versions can be added and used efficiently which makes Testify quickly scalable. Together, several language versions have been implemented for international use.

Digital Checklist Management.

Digital checklist management for mapping and executing cross-divisional workflows. With the checklist templates, process flows are created once and are reused in slightly adapted form at other Evonik sites.

Native & WebApp.

With the intuitive WebApp, discrepancies, anomalies and the like can be recorded on the smartphone or tablet in the form of issues in Testify and assigned to the responsible employee.

Integrated Test Equipment Management.

The creation of test objects can be transferred 1:1 and continuously synchronized thanks to the interfaces to Office products, SAP PM and Production Information System (PIMS). In addition, custom fields allow a very flexible mapping of test objects, which also facilitates the modeling of special cases without programming effort.

E-Mail Benachrichtigungen.

The integrated e-mail notification simplifies communication within processes. As soon as deviations have been recorded and they belong to a certain category, the responsible employees are informed about them in real time.

Reporting in Realtime.

Even the basic reporting functions, such as the number of issues recorded and the number and status of the checks performed, are now the basis for decisions on process improvements.

Flexible REST-API.

The integrations to SAP PM and, the PIMS were essential for the seamless execution of processes. For example, pressure values from the plant can be transferred directly to PIMS. The interface to Office 365 was also efficiency-enhancing. With flexible REST API and webhooks, independent integration into various primary systems is possible. The export of test protocols as PDFs has proven to be a very helpful tool when documenting processes. The exports are then automatically stored in a folder. This increases the overview.

The result after the
implementation of Testify.


Alternative Text

40h time savings
during inspections.

The time saved by using Testify to perform a checklist amounts to several minutes. If plant tours are carried out regularly, this can quickly save around 40 hours of non-productive time per plant and year. Since, in addition to plant tours, other tours and inspections are also carried out with Testify, the total potential is correspondingly higher. If interfaces are used, e.g. for the automated storage of protocols or for the transfer of data to the PIMS, the savings potential is significantly higher.

Alternative Text

Captured data is available
digitally and in real time.

There are significantly fewer media discontinuities and information silos, since the open system architecture and the flexible toolbox system allow interfaces to third-party systems to be implemented quickly, so that any information about company processes can be accessed centrally via an interface. Data silos are eliminated as effectively as possible. The analyses can be used to derive measures for process improvement, which in turn can be used to optimize production processes.

Alternative Text

Digital execution of internal audits.

The use of Testify has also paid off in the course of internal audits. The entire review is no longer conducted with a clipboard and paper checklist, but 100% digitally via smartphone or tablets. The results can be made available digitally to all participants immediately.

Using Testify has changed the general way we work. We work faster and more efficiently because we have a better overview and all data can be reused elsewhere without media breaks!


Alternative Text
Andreas Lindner,
Digital Partner, Evonik

The outlook.


Testify has now become an established component of Evonik's digital transformation. Testify can be used in a wide range of applications along the supply chain and the plant life cycle - from logistics to production.

In the future, cross-company collaboration with suppliers and customers is to be further expanded together with Testify, for which specific projects are already underway. In addition, the consistent use of data recorded by Testify will be further promoted.

Alternative Text

More success stories
of our customers.

Von der Digitalisierungs-Roadmap zur globalen Praxis. Evonik treibt mit Testify die Digitalisierung an weltweiten Produktionsstandorten an.

Nach der Pilotphase auf zwei Produktionsstandorten wurde Testify binnen einem Jahr auf mehr als 20 Standorte weltweit ausgerollt und konnte damit die geplante Digitalisierungsstrategie zeitnah und kosteneffizient unterstützen.


Alternative Text
Über Evonik


Evonik ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen im Bereich der Spezialchemie. Das Credo: Das Leben besser zu machen, Tag für Tag. In über 100 Ländern weltweit aktiv und mit mehr als 33.000 Mitarbeitern hat sich Evonik das Ziel gesetzt, für Kunden innovative, wertbringende und nachhaltige Lösungen zu schaffen.

Die Digitalisierungs-Erfolgsgeschichte bei Evonik.

Der Konzern treibt mit einer umfassenden und integrierten digitalen Agenda die digitale Transformation seiner Produktion sowie der Prozesse in der Supply Chain und dem Lebenszyklus von Anlagen voran. Im Zuge der Erstellung dezidierter Digitalisierungs-Roadmaps mit Inputs aus unterschiedlichen Unternehmensbereichen wie Produktion, Logistik, Labor und Technika, wurde ein Maßnahmenpaket geschnürt, um die digitale Transformation voranzutreiben. Dabei ging es auch um die Digitalisierung von vorwiegend papierbasierten Prozessen. Schnell konnte daraus ein Bedarf nach einer Software-Lösung zur Dokumentation und Steuerung von internen Prozessen anhand von digitalen Checklisten abgeleitet werden. Und von da an kam Testify zum Einsatz.

Ausgangslage bei Evonik.


Die Erfassung und Dokumentation zum Beispiel von Betriebsrundgängen und Sicherheitsbegehungen erfolgte bei Produktionsstandorten von Evonik hauptsächlich analog und papierbasiert. Das war ressourcenintensiv und begünstigte das Entstehen von Informationssilos.

Vorwiegend papiergestützte Prozesse.


Bislang wurde die Dokumentation von Prozessen vorwiegend analog auf Papier gebracht und in Ordnern abgelegt, um die gesetzlich vorgeschrieben Aufbewahrungsfrist von bis zu 30 Jahren einhalten zu können.

Durch die Scan-, Druck und Ablagevorgänge kam es zudem vermehrt zu Medienbrüchen. Außerdem verursachte die Lagerung der Akten Kosten und band Ressourcen. Zudem sind Nachvollziehbarkeit und Revisionssicherheit zwar gegeben, können jedoch durch den Einsatz digitaler Lösungen noch verbessert werden.

Schnell wurde das Potenzial einer digitalen Checklisten Software erkannt, um Prozessverbesserungen bei gleichzeitiger Ressourcenschonung zu erzielen.

Alternative Text
Alternative Text

Vernetzte Zusammenarbeit an
weltweiten Produktionsstandorten.


Bereits während des Proof of Concepts an zwei Standorten in Marl und Wesseling wurde das Potenzial zum globalen Einsatz von Testify erkannt. Für einen skalierbaren, globalen Rollout mussten die technischen Gegebenheiten seitens IT-Infrastruktur und Schnittstellen geschaffen werden. Dazu wurde eine interne Strategie zur Top-Down Implementierung festgelegt.

Schritt für Schritt zum
globalen Einsatz von Testify.


Schneller Rollout in über 20 Bereichen.


Gestartet wurde der Rollout der Testify Software mit einem Proof of Concept (PoC) in Betrieben an zwei Produktionsstandorten von Evonik, Marl und Wesseling, um die Anforderungen der Betriebe aufzunehmen und die Software zu evaluieren.

Nach der erfolgreichen PoC-Phase und der Evaluierung des Einsparungspotenziales, das durch den Einsatz der Software möglich war, wurde die Pilotphase in weniger als 6 Monaten in weiteren 10 Betrieben weltweit aufgenommen, die ebenfalls sehr erfolgreich verlaufen ist.

Testify ist nun auf über 20 Standorten in Ländern wie Belgien, China, USA, Neuseeland und Deutschland im Einsatz.

Alternative Text
Alternative Text

Bereichsübergreifende Digitalisierung von analogen Prozessen.


Nach der Einführung von Testify konnten u.a. Betriebsrundgänge, Anlagenrundgänge, Sicherheitsbegehungen und S-O-S- Rundgänge (Sicherheit-Ordnung-Sauberkeit) in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen wie Labor, Produktion, Technika, Logistik und Catering mobil und digital dokumentiert werden.

Abweichungen können direkt am Tablet via intuitiver WebApp erfasst und dem zuständigen Mitarbeiter zugewiesen werden. Damit können Abweichungen schnellstmöglich behoben werden.

Eine zentrale Stelle koordiniert den Einsatz von Testify und damit die vernetzte Zusammenarbeit.


Bei Evonik wurde ein mehrstufiger Implementierungsprozess eingeführt, um die Software innerhalb von weniger als zwei Wochen in den jeweiligen Bereichen einsatzbereit zu machen.

Der Prozess startet in der Regel mit einem Kick-Off-Termin zur Erfassung der Anforderungen des abzubildenden Use Cases. Es folgen Schulungen der Key-User, das Einrichten der Softwarelösung und letztlich die Schulung der Endnutzer durch die Key-User.

Andreas Lindner ist Digital Partner in der Division Technology & Infrastructure und verantwortet den Rollout von Testify bei Evonik: Mitarbeiter eines Teams um Lindner sind Ansprechpartner zur Einführung und Umsetzung von Use Cases in der Testify Software. Sie verantworten den gesamten Rollout, das Dokumentieren der Anforderungen, bereiten die Arbeitsbereiche vor und führen Schulungen von Key-Usern durch.

Ein durchdachtes Supportkonzept sorgt zudem für eine Betreuung über den Rollout hinaus. Über interne Kommunikationskanäle werden Supportthemen zu Testify aufgegriffen und über Ansprechpartner in Deutschland und China zeiteffizient bearbeitet.

Alternative Text

Das Tool macht auf sehr einfache und kosteneffiziente Weise die Vorteile der Digitalisierung in unserem Bereich sichtbar und wir werden Testify auch in weiteren Betrieben ausrollen!


Alternative Text
Friedrich Morlock,
Digitalisierungsmanager , Evonik

Mit Enterprise Funktionalitäten zum internationalen Einsatz.


MS Azure Cloud Hosting.

Zur Einhaltung der Compliance Richtlinien wird Testify vollständig in der IT-Umgebung von Evonik via MS Azure Cloud Hosting betrieben. Damit können die hohen Datenschutzanforderungen gewährleistet und Daten und Prozesse intern verwaltet werden.

Multi Language Setting.

Das integrierte Multi Language Setting erlaubt eine flexible Übersetzung der Checklisten in die gewünschten Sprachen ohne die Datenbasis zu verändern. Gemeinsam wurden mehrere Sprachversionen für den internationalen Einsatz implementiert.

Digitales Checklistenmanagement.

Digitales Checklistenmanagement zur Abbildung und Durchführung bereichsübergreifender Workflows. Mit den Checklisten Templates werden Prozessabläufe einmal erstellt und werden in leicht adaptierter Form auf anderen Evonik-Standorten wiederverwendet.

Native & WebApp.

Mit der intuitiven WebApp können Abweichungen, Auffälligkeiten und Ähnliches am Smartphone oder Tablet in Form von Mängeln in Testify erfasst und dem verantwortlichen Mitarbeiter zugewiesen werden.

Integriertes Prüfmittelmanagement.

Die Anlage von Prüfobjekten kann dank der Schnittstellen zu Office Produkten, SAP PM und Produktionsinformationssystem (PIMS) 1:1 übernommen und kontinuierlich synchronisiert werden. Zusätzlich erlauben benutzerdefinierte Felder eine sehr flexible Abbildung von Prüfobjekten, womit auch die Modellierung von Spezialfällen ohne Programmieraufwand erleichtert wird.

E-Mail Benachrichtigungen.

Die integrierte E-Mail-Benachrichtigung erleichtert die Kommunikation im Rahmen von Prozessen. Um Abweichungen oder Auffälligkeiten zu erfassen, werden in Testify sogenannte Mängel aufgenommen. Sobald ein Mangel erfasst wurde und dieser einer bestimmten Kategorie angehört, werden die zuständigen Mitarbeiter in Echtzeit darüber informiert.

Reporting in Echtzeit.

Auch die Basisfunktionen des Reportings, wie die Anzahl an erfassten Mängeln und Anzahl und Status der durchgeführten Checks sind mittlerweile Entscheidungsgrundlage für Prozessverbesserungen.

Flexibel verwendbare REST-API.

Die Integrationen zu SAP PM und dem PIMS waren für die lückenlose Durchführung von Prozessen essenziell. So können beispielsweise Druckwerte aus der Anlage direkt ins PIMS übertragen werden. Auch die Schnittstelle zu Office 365 sei effizienzsteigernd. Mittels flexibel verwendbarer REST-API und Webhooks kann eine selbstständige Integration in verschiedene Primärsysteme ermöglicht werden.Hoh

Das Ergebnis nach der
Implementierung von Testify.


Alternative Text

40h Einsparungen bei Betriebsrundgängen.

Die Zeitersparnis, die sich durch den Einsatz von Testify bei der Durchführung einer Checkliste ergibt, beläuft sich auf mehrere Minuten. Bei regelmäßig durchgeführten Betriebsrundgängen können so schnell ca. 40h Nebenzeiten pro Betrieb und Jahr eingespart werden. Da neben Betriebsrundgängen auch andere Rundgänge und Begehungen mit Testify durchgeführt werden, liegt das Gesamtpotenzial entsprechend höher.

Alternative Text

Erfasste Daten digital
und in Echtzeit verfügbar.

Es gibt bedeutend weniger Medienbrüche und Informationssilos, da durch die offene Systemarchitektur Schnittstellen zu Drittsystemen schnell implementiert werden und damit über ein Interface jegliche Informationen über Unternehmensprozesse zentral abgerufen werden können. Aus den Analysen können Maßnahmen zur Prozessverbesserung abgeleitet und dadurch wiederum Produktionsprozesse optimiert werden.

Alternative Text

Digitale Durchführung interner Audits.

Auch in Zuge von internen Audits hat sich der Einsatz von Testify gelohnt. Die gesamte Überprüfung wird nicht mehr mit Klemmbrett und Papier-Checkliste durchgeführt, sondern zu 100% digital über Smartphone oder Tablets. Die Ergebnisse können allen Teilnehmern sofort digital zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Durch den Einsatz von Testify hat sich die allgemeine Arbeitsweise bei uns geändert, wir arbeiten schneller und effizienter, da wir eine bessere Übersicht haben und alle Daten medienbruchfrei an einer anderen Stelle wiederverwendet werden können!


Alternative Text
Andreas Lindner,
Digital Partner, Evonik

Der Ausblick. So geht es weiter.


Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Testify erstrecken sich über eine Vielzahl an Anwendungsgebieten entlang der Supply Chain und des Anlagenlebenszyklus – von der Logistik bis zur Produktion.

Zukünftig soll zum einen die unternehmensübergreifende Zusammenarbeit mit Lieferanten und Kunden gemeinsam mit Testify weiter ausgebaut werden, wozu auch schon konkrete Projekte laufen. Zum anderen wird die konsequente Nutzung von durch Testify aufgenommenen Daten weiter vorangetrieben.

Alternative Text

Weitere digitale Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden.