60% efficiency gains through digitized quality control ticket management at Plasser American.

Employees and management at Plasser American are dedicated to a common goal: deliver superior quality in the Maintenance of Way product and services market in North America.


Home > 60% efficiency gains through digitized quality control ticket management at Plasser American.

Digital quality control at Plasser American.

Employees and management at Plasser American are dedicated to a common goal: deliver superior quality in the Maintenance of Way product and services market in North America.  The project, starting with recording issues in the assembly area and now extends the entire value stream to the customer’s site thanks to the scalable functions of the Testify solution. All in all, up to 60% of wasted time associated with addressing issues per machine has been eliminated!

Alternative Text
About Plasser American

Plasser American is headquartered in Chesapeake, Virginia and founded in 1961.  The company employs more than 300 people across the United States and supplies track construction and maintenance equipment as well as other railroad-specific solutions to all major railroads and transit systems in North America.

Paper-based challenges before the implementation.


Lack of real-time data evaluation.

Issue tracking during the production processes was collected in a resource- and time-intensive paper-based process and transferred to spreadsheets in order to subsequently obtain a detailed evaluation of the current individual issue processes.

The problem was, this was not only a time-consuming documentation process on paper, but it also the transfer of data, was no longer up-to-date at the time.

This required reports to be created several times a day in order to be able to read current situation accordingly and intervene if necessary.

Anchoring quality engagement in every employee.

With the challenge of delivering premier quality products and services, the requirement to introduce a solution for digital issue tracking along the manufacturing process was critical.

On the one hand optimizing the workflow within the scope of issue tracking and resolution, and on the other hand, anchoring quality engagement in every employee was crucial.

In a further step, digital checklists were used to document the entire production process with the ability to involve customers in the quality process. With Testify, these requirements could be resolved efficiently.

There has always been a gap between our vision of quality excellence and turning that vision into reality. Testify has bridged that gap and helped us turn production employees into quality employees.


Alternative Text
Thomas Blechinger,
President & CEO , Plasser American

Scalable integration
through modular design.


Fast rollout
within 5 weeks.

After successful commissioning of Testify at the main plant in Linz, Plasser American became aware of the software for digital tracking of issues. After a pilot phase of about 3 days, Testify was successfully rolled out in the assembly area within 5 weeks.

Stan Crockett, Director of Quality & Continuous Improvement and initiator of the project, commented: “We had a manual system for identifying and documenting issues. I found that Testify would be the enhancement we were looking for!” The software was able to be rolled out completely on its own within a few weeks.

Implementation of digital checklists throughout the entire production chain.

What started with issue management in the Assembly Area was gradually expanded to digital checklists and is now continuously used from the start of the production process to the final acceptance. The modular structure of the Testify software allowed an individual extension of the application possibilities.

It started with 5 checklists in the assembly area, the heart of the company, and has been expanded to more than 45 checklists that are also used in upstream areas.

Better service through customer integration.

Customers are involved in the quality control process via Testify to ensure that quality meets requirements even beyond the production shops.

This provides further valuable insight into machine handling and KPIs such as a variety of machine data. Thereby, customers are involved in the value chain and are also part of the vision to create outstanding quality in the machines.

With the digitization of production processes, we are able to perform in-depth analyses for the first time. This has allowed us to analyze the performance of individual areas, establish and monitor KPIs, and most importantly, ensure that customer specific requirements are met!


Alternative Text
Stan Crockett,
Director of Quality & Continous Improvement, Plasser American

The result after the implementation of Testify: More efficiency, better data, outstanding product and service quality.


Alternative Text

60% resource savings in issue tracking.

Thanks to digital documentation in Testify, paper-based, time-consuming recording of issues becomes unneccessary. Employees are equipped with smartphones and tablets and can immediately document issues, identify the correct test object, and quickly correct issues.

Alternative Text

Business analytics in real time.

Instead of repeatedly collecting and evaluating process data, all data is transparently analyzed in the integrated dashboards. With the help of Pareto charts and trend charts, representative predictions can be made about production processes, which in turn serve as the basis for weekly management meetings.

Alternative Text

More quality among products.

Since using the intuitive QM software, the quality of the machines has increased significantly. This is evidenced by fewer issues being identified per area and per workflow. Overall, 24% fewer issues have been recorded since Testify was implemented than before the tool was used.

Alternative Text

Employees became quality employees.

With Testify, every employee in the production chain was given a tool to ensure quality at every step of production to prevent issues. With Testify, a workplace has been created where quality is lived and where every single employee performs meaningful work.

Alternative Text

The outlook: Supplier integration.

Now that the integration of customers into the quality process has been so successful, suppliers will also be involved in the process in the future and final inspections of components will be carried out digitally with Testify.

Testify Use Cases at a glance.


Alternative Text

Testify Production Support.

The first use case is issue detection during assembly processes, which is now used throughout the entire production process from goods receipt to final inspection.

Alternative Text

Testify Quality.

With Testify, checklists were subsequently created for mapping and documenting assembly processes in order to establish standardized workflows. In the meantime, the number of checklist templates has increased to over 45.

Alternative Text

Testify Business Process Outsourcing.

With the integration of customers, testing processes have been extended beyond company boundaries. Thus, maintenance inspections are outsourced to the customer.

Alternative Text

Testify Risk Analysis.

Thanks to the comprehensive business analytics software, data from the production processes is clearly prepared and available as dashboards in Testify. The data provides insights into the performance of individual areas, detailed issue management key figures and how many inspections are successfully completed.

More digital success stories
from our customers.

60% Effizienzsteigerung mit digitalen Mangelmanagement bei Plasser American.

Die Mitarbeiter und das Management von Plasser American haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: höchste Qualität auf dem Markt für Produkte und Dienstleistungen für die Instandhaltung von Verkehrswegen in Nordamerika zu liefern.


Home > 60% Effizienzsteigerung mit digitalen Mangelmanagement bei Plasser American.

Digitales Mangelmanagement führt zu erheblichen Effizienzsteigerungen. Die Success Story bei Plasser American.

Mitarbeiter und das Management von Plasser American haben sich einem gemeinsamen Ziel verschrieben: höchste Qualität auf dem Markt für Bahninstandhaltungsprodukte und -dienstleistungen in Nordamerika zu liefern. Das Projekt, das mit der Erfassung von Problemen im Montagebereich begann, erstreckt sich dank der skalierbaren Funktionen der Testify-Lösung nun über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette bis zum Standort des Kunden. Insgesamt konnte bis zu 60% Zeit, die mit der Behebung von Mängeln pro Maschine verbunden ist, eingespart werden!

Alternative Text
Über Plasser American

Plasser American hat seinen Hauptsitz in Chesapeake, Virginia, und wurde 1961 gegründet. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt mehr als 300 Mitarbeiter in den gesamten Vereinigten Staaten und liefert Gleisbau- und Instandhaltungsgeräte sowie andere eisenbahnspezifische Lösungen an alle großen Eisenbahngesellschaften und Transitsysteme in Nordamerika.

Papierbasierte Prozesse vor der Implementierung.


blank

Fehlende Echtzeit-Datenauswertung.

Die Mangelerfassung während der Produktionsprozesse wurde in einem ressourcen- und zeitintensiven papierbasierten Prozess gesammelt. Anschließend wurden diese in Tabellenkalkulationen übertragen, um eine detaillierte Auswertung der aktuellen einzelnen Fehlerprozesse zu erhalten.

Das Problem war, dass dies nicht nur ein zeitaufwändiger Dokumentationsprozess auf Papier war, sondern auch die Übertragung der Daten nicht mehr zeitgemäß war. So mussten mehrmals täglich Berichte erstellt werden, um die aktuelle Situation entsprechend zu analysieren und gegebenenfalls eingreifen zu können.

blank

Mehr Qualitätsbewusstsein bei Mitarbeitern.

Mit der Herausforderung, Produkte und Dienstleistungen von höchster Qualität zu liefern, musste eine Lösung zur digitalen Mangelerfassung entlang des Fertigungsprozesses eingeführt werden. Einerseits galt es, den Workflow im Rahmen der Mangelerfassung und -behebung zu optimieren und andererseits das Qualitätsbewusstsein bei jedem Mitarbeiter zu verankern.

In einem weiteren Schritt wurden digitale Checklisten zur Dokumentation des gesamten Produktionsprozesses eingesetzt. Darüber hinaus konnten auch Kunden in die Abläufe integriert werden. Mit Testify konnten diese Anforderungen effizient gelöst werden.

There has always been a gap between our vision of quality excellence and turning that vision into reality. Testify has bridged that gap and helped us turn production employees into quality employees.


Alternative Text
Thomas Blechinger,
President & CEO , Plasser American

Skalierbare Integration mit dem modularen Baukastensystem.


blank
blank

Schnelles Rollout

binnen 5 Wochen.

Nach erfolgreicher Inbetriebnahme von Testify im Hauptwerk in Linz wurde Plasser American auf die Software zur digitalen Mangelerfassung aufmerksam. Nach einer Pilotphase von etwa 3 Tagen wurde Testify innerhalb von 5 Wochen erfolgreich im Montagebereich ausgerollt.

Stan Crockett, Director of Quality & Continuous Improvement und Initiator des Projekts, kommentiert: „Wir hatten ein manuelles System, um Mängel zu identifizieren und zu dokumentieren. Ich fand, dass Testify die Verbesserung ist, die wir suchten!“ Die Software konnte innerhalb weniger Wochen komplett eigenständig ausgerollt werden.

blank

Implementierung von digitalen Checklisten entlang der gesamten Produktionskette.

Was mit der Mangelerfassung in der Montage begann, wurde nach und nach auf digitale Checklisten ausgeweitet und ist nun durchgängig vom Start des Produktionsprozesses bis zur Endabnahme im Einsatz.

Der modulare Aufbau der Testify-Software erlaubte eine individuelle Erweiterung der Einsatzmöglichkeiten. Angefangen hat es mit 5 Checklisten im Montagebereich, dem Herzstück des Unternehmens, und wurde auf mehr als 45 Checklisten erweitert, die auch in vorgelagerten Bereichen eingesetzt werden.

blank

Besserer Service durch Kundenintegration.

Kunden werden über Testify in den Qualitätskontrollprozess eingebunden, um sicherzustellen, dass die Qualität auch über die Produktionsstätten hinaus den Anforderungen entspricht.

Dies bietet weitere wertvolle Einblicke in die Maschinenhandhabung und KPIs wie eine Vielzahl von Maschinendaten. Dadurch werden die Kunden in die Wertschöpfungskette eingebunden und sind auch Teil der Vision, herausragende Qualität in den Maschinen zu schaffen.

With the digitization of production processes, we are able to perform in-depth analyses for the first time. This has allowed us to analyze the performance of individual areas, establish and monitor KPIs, and most importantly, ensure that customer specific requirements are met!


Alternative Text
Stan Crockett,
Director of Quality & Continous Improvement, Plasser American

Das Ergebnis nach der Implementierung von Testify: Mehr Effizienz, bessere Daten, hervorragende Produkt- und Servicequalität.


Alternative Text

60 % Ressourceneinsparung bei der Mangelerfassung.

Dank der digitalen Dokumentation in Testify wird die papierbasierte, zeitaufwändige Erfassung von Mängeln überflüssig. Die Mitarbeiter sind mit Smartphones und Tablets ausgestattet und können Mängel sofort dokumentieren, das richtige Testobjekt identifizieren und Abweichungen schnell beheben.

Alternative Text

Auswertungen in Echtzeit.

Statt immer wieder Prozessdaten zu sammeln und auszuwerten, werden alle Daten in den integrierten Dashboards transparent aufbereitet. Mit Hilfe von Pareto- und Trenddiagrammen lassen sich repräsentative Vorhersagen über Produktionsprozesse treffen, die wiederum als Grundlage für wöchentliche Management-Meetings dienen.

Alternative Text

Qualitätssteigerung bei Produkten.

Seitdem Testify im Einsatz ist, hat sich die Qualität der Maschinen deutlich erhöht. Dies zeigt sich daran, dass pro Bereich und pro Arbeitsablauf weniger Mängel festgestellt wurden. Insgesamt wurden seit der Einführung von Testify 24% weniger Mängel erfasst als vor dem Einsatz des Tools.

Alternative Text

Mehr Qualitätsbewusstsein bei Mitarbeitern.

Mit Testify wurde jedem Mitarbeiter in der Produktionskette ein Werkzeug an die Hand gegeben, um die Qualität bei jedem Produktionsschritt sicherzustellen und Mängel zu vermeiden. Mit Testify wurde ein Arbeitsplatz geschaffen, an dem Qualität gelebt wird und an dem jeder einzelne Mitarbeiter eine sinnvolle Arbeit leistet.

Alternative Text

Der Ausblick: Lieferantenintegration.

Nachdem die Einbindung der Kunden in den Qualitätsprozess so erfolgreich war, werden in Zukunft auch die Lieferanten in den Prozess eingebunden und die Endprüfung der Bauteile mit Testify digital durchgeführt.

Use Cases im Überblick.


Alternative Text

Testify Produktionsbegleitung.

Der erste Anwendungsfall ist die Mangelerfassung bei Montageprozessen, die nun im gesamten Produktionsprozess vom Wareneingang bis zur Endkontrolle eingesetzt wird.

Alternative Text

Testify Qualitätsmanagement.

Mit Testify wurden anschließend Checklisten zur Abbildung und Dokumentation von Montageprozessen erstellt, um standardisierte Arbeitsabläufe zu etablieren. Mittlerweile ist die Anzahl der Checklistenvorlagen auf über 45 angewachsen.

Alternative Text

Testify Business Process Outsourcing.

Mit der Integration von Kunden wurden die Prüfprozesse über die Unternehmensgrenzen hinaus ausgedehnt. So werden Wartungsinspektionen an den Kunden ausgelagert.

Alternative Text

Testify Risk Analysis.

Dank der umfassenden Business-Analytics-Software sind die Daten aus den Produktionsprozessen übersichtlich aufbereitet und als Dashboards in Testify verfügbar. Die Daten geben Einblicke in die Leistung einzelner Bereiche, detaillierte Managelmanagement Kennzahlen und wie viele Inspektionen erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden.

Weitere digitale Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden.


blank

Bei GCS rettet Qualitätsmanagement Leben.

Digitalisierungs-Erfolgsgeschichte von Global Clearance Systems AG Bei der Herstellung von Robotern für die mechanische Minenräumung (Sicherung von Landminenfeldern) entscheidet die Produktqualität über Erfolg oder Misserfolg.…
Weiterlesen