Significant time savings in incoming goods inspections with Testify at Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.

Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG used Testify to quickly digitize incoming goods inspections in its large warehouse, thus not only reducing the time needed for inspections but also optimizing the complaints processes.


The digitization success story of Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.

Product quality has top priority at Oswald. This includes a carefully selected product range, which is continuously evaluated and expanded with the customer, packaging according to standardized criteria, and the supply of high-quality hairdressing products. Many different test criteria must be followed and documented. This is exactly where Testify comes in. With a connection to SAP as the merchandise management system, checklists are processed on the basis of the material master. 

Alternative Text
About Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

Karl Oswald GmbH is a 4th generation family business in Germany that has been in existence for almost 100 years and acts as a wholesaler for articles of hairdressing supplies. With 50 employees and another 150 supporting home workers, Oswald stores, packs and ships products such as hairbrushes, manicure and massage articles.

Handwritten incoming goods inspections
before implementation.


Before the introduction of Testify, incoming goods inspection was done by hand on paper. With 28 million items per year, this is a very time-consuming activity.

High communication effort due to media breaks.

In the incoming goods inspection, the exact appraisal and verification of the target criteria is the most important thing. It can happen that articles are wrong and are nevertheless released or that defects are collected where there is no defect.

For this purpose, a matrix was written using Excel, which contained 30-50 inspection criteria and 20-80 items. This was printed out and placed in the warehouse to document the target specifications. The difficult conditions such as wind and dirt were compounded by the additional work involved in changing the inspection criteria and in documenting complaints, which also led to an increased susceptibility to errors in the process.

This results in increased additional work between the warehouse and purchasing department regarding complaints. The local separation of the two departments makes cooperation even more difficult.

Lengthy checks after unloading.

Oswald’s goods are delivered in containers. On average, three full working days passed before the goods were unloaded and inspected. The recording of defects was done with paper and photos, which in turn were stored in digital form on the PC.

Transferring the data into a uniform system was very time-consuming.

With Testify, goods can be checked "on-the-fly" during unloading. Instead of 3 days, our team now only needs 1 day.


Alternative Text
Thomas Oswald,
Executive Manager, Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

And so Testify was rolled out in the plant.


Checklist templates for incoming goods inspection.

The implementation of Testify started as usual with a proof of concept (PoC) in the incoming goods inspection. In the course of this, the Excel list with the inspection criteria was created as a checklist template in Testify in order to digitally perform the quality control of the incoming goods.

Integration with SAP.

Mit der Anbindung an SAP als With the connection to SAP as the merchandise management system, checklists were subsequently created and published automatically on the basis of the product. The necessary information on the check criteria was taken from the associated material master. This meant that the data for the inspection criteria only had to be maintained in one place.

Structured process for defect handling.

Previously, defects on the goods were recorded with the digital camera, stored in a file folder and transmitted to the responsible buyer:in. With the integrated defect management, product defects and errors can be recorded directly digitally in Testify and forwarded to the purchasing department for inspection. Complaint processing and communication now works without any media disruptions and 100% digitally.

Especially due to the local separation of our purchasing department from the warehouse, smooth communication is all the more important. Testify has closed exactly this gap for us and offers us a communication platform in addition to the checklist software. The effect? Everything works much faster and easier and our employees are more satisfied!


Alternative Text
Thomas Oswald,
Executive Manager, Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

With practical functions for significant efficiency increases in goods receipt.


Digital checklists

The digital checklist designer is used to create checklist templates with numeric, single choice, and photo checks that serve as the basis for testing each item.

Mobile defect management

The integrated defect management supports Oswald in documenting and processing product defects and deficiencies. These can be noted directly in the respective checklist. In addition, the integrated camera function, defect category and severity serve to record structured information on the defect, which greatly facilitates internal communication with the purchasing department. This significantly reduces the defect processing time and information on how to deal with the defect can be passed on in an uncomplicated manner.

SAP Integration

Thanks to the integration of SAP, material master data can be transferred from the inventory management system to Testify, whereupon a checklist for the item is published.

The result after implementing Testify: more efficiency, better data, excellent product and service quality.


Alternative Text

Significant time savings in incoming goods inspection.

The inspection of an overseas container usually took about 3 days before using Testify. This was mainly due to the fact that the goods had to be unloaded beforehand and then the quality criteria carefully documented using the Excel list. With the use of Testify, the incoming goods inspection is now done in one day.

Alternative Text

Improved interdepartmental communication.

The time saved by Testify is not limited to the incoming goods inspection itself. The preparation and follow-up of inspections now also works much more efficiently, since all information is available digitally. In addition, the processes are much more transparent.

Further digital success stories from customers.


Home > Significant time savings in incoming goods inspections with Testify at Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.

Erhebliche Zeiteinsparung bei Wareneingangsprüfungen mit Testify in der Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.

Die Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG digitalisierte mit Testify in kurzer Zeit die Wareneingangskontrollen im Großlager und verkürzte damit nicht nur die Zeit für Überprüfungen sondern optimierte darüber hinaus die Reklamationsprozesse.


Die Digitalisierungs-Erfolgsgeschichte der Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.

Die Produktqualität hat bei der Oswald oberste Priorität. Dazu gehört ein sorgfältig ausgewähltes Produktsortiment, welches mit dem Abnehmer laufend evaluiert und erweitert wird, die Verpackung nach standardisierten Kriterien, sowie die Belieferung von hochqualitativen Friseurprodukten. Dabei müssen viele verschiedene Prüfkriterien befolgt und dokumentiert werden. Genau hier setzt Testify an. Mit einer Anbindung an SAP als Warenwirtschaftssystem werden Checklisten auf Basis des Materialstammes abgearbeitet. 

Alternative Text
Über Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

Die Karl Oswald GmbH ist ein seit fast 100 Jahren bestehendes Familienunternehmen in der 4. Generation in Deutschland und agiert als Großhändler für Artikel des Friseurbedarfs. Mit 50 Mitarbeiter:innen und weiteren 150 unterstützenden Heimarbeiter:innen lagert, verpackt und versendet Oswald Produkte wie Haarbürsten, Manikür- und  Massageartikel.

Handschriftliche Wareneingangskontrollen
vor der Implementierung.


Die Wareneingangskontrolle erfolgte vor der Einführung von Testify handschriftlich auf Papier. Bei 28 Millionen Artikeln pro Jahr ist das eine sehr zeitintensive Tätigkeit.

Hoher Kommunikationsaufwand durch Medienbrüche.

In der Wareneingangsprüfung ist die genaue Begutachtung und Überprüfung der Sollkriterien das A und O. Dabei kann es vorkommen, dass Artikel falsch sind und dennoch freigegeben werden oder aber es kommt vor, dass Mängel erfasst werden, wo kein Mangel ist.

Dazu wurde eine Matrix mittels Excel verfasst, die 30-50 Prüfkriterien sowie 20-80 Artikel beinhaltete. Diese wurde ausgedruckt im Lager angebracht, um die Sollvorgaben zu dokumentieren. Zu den schwierigen Bedingungen wie Wind und Schmutz reihte sich der Mehraufwand bei einer Änderung der Prüfkriterien sowie in der Dokumentation bei Reklamationen, was auch zu einer erhöhten Fehleranfälligkeit des Prozesses führte.

Das resultiert in einem erhöhten Mehraufwand zwischen Lager und Einkauf betreffend Reklamationen. Die örtliche Trennung der beiden Abteilungen erschwert die Zusammenarbeit zusätzlich.

Langwierige Kontrollen nach Abladung.

Die Waren der Oswald werden in Containern angeliefert. Bis die Waren abgeladen und geprüft wurden, vergingen im Schnitt drei volle Werktage. Die Erfassung der Mängel wurde mit Papier und Fotos erfasst, die wiederum in digitaler Form am PC abgelegt wurden.

Die Übertragung der Daten in ein einheitliches System war sehr zeitintensiv.

Mit Testify können die Waren „on-the-fly“ während der Abladung kontrolliert werden. Statt 3 Tage benötigt unser Team nun nur mehr 1 Tag.


Alternative Text
Thomas Oswald,
Geschäftsführer, Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

Und so wurde Testify im Betrieb ausgerollt.


Checklisten-Vorlagen für die Wareneingangsprüfung.

Gestartet wurde die Implementierung von Testify wie gewohnt mit einem Proof of Concept (PoC) in der Wareneingangskontrolle. Im Zuge dessen wurde die Excel-Liste mit den Prüfkriterien als Checklisten-Template in Testify angelegt, um damit die Qualitätskontrolle der ankommenden Ware digital durchzuführen.

Anbindung an SAP.

Mit der Anbindung an SAP als Warenwirtschaftssystem, wurden in weiterer Folge automatisiert Checklisten auf Basis des Artikels erstellt und veröffentlicht. Die nötigen Informationen zu den Prüfkriterien wurden aus dem zugehörigen Materialstamm gezogen. Somit mussten die Daten zu den Prüfkriterien nur mehr an einer Stelle gewartet werden.

Strukturierter Prozess zur Mangelbearbeitung

Zuvor wurden Mängel an den Waren mit der Digitalkamera erfasst, in einem Dateiordner abgelegt und dem/der zuständigen Einkäufer:in übermittelt. Mit dem integrierten Mängelmanagement können Produktmängel und Fehler direkt digital in Testify erfasst und an den Einkauf zur Überprüfung weitergeleitet werden. Die Reklamationsbearbeitung und Kommunikation funktioniert nun ohne jegliche Medienbrüche und zu 100% digital.

Gerade aufgrund der örtlichen Trennung unserer Einkaufsabteilung vom Lager, ist eine reibungslose Kommunikation umso wichtiger. Testify hat bei uns genau diese Lücke geschlossen und bietet uns zusätzlich zur Checklisten Software eine Kommunikationsplattform. Der Effekt? Es funktioniert alles viel schneller und einfacher und unsere Mitarbeiter:innen sind zufriedener!


Alternative Text
Thomas Oswald,
Geschäftsführer, Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG

Mit praktischen Funktionen zu erheblichen Effizienzsteigerungen im Wareneingang.


Digitale Checklisten

Mit dem digitalen Checklisten-Designer werden Checklisten Templates mit numerischen, Single Choice und Foto-Checks erstellt, die als Basis für die Prüfung der jeweiligen Artikel dienen.

Mobiles Mängelmanagement

Das integrierte Mängelmanagement unterstützt Oswald bei der Dokumentation und Bearbeitung von Produktfehlern und Mängeln. Diese können direkt in der jeweiligen Checkliste vermerkt werden. Zusätzlich dienen die integrierte Kamerafunktion, die Mangelkategorie und der Schweregrad dazu, strukturierte Informationen zum Mangel zu erfassen, was die interne Kommunikation mit der Einkaufsabteilung erheblich erleichtert. Dadurch verringert sich die Mangelbearbeitungszeit erheblich und Informationen darüber, wie mit dem Mangel umgegangen wird, kann unkompliziert weitergegeben werden.

SAP Integration

Dank der Integration von SAP, können Materialstammdaten aus dem Warenwirtschaftssystem an Testify übermittelt werden, woraufhin eine Checkliste für den Artikel veröffentlicht wird.

Das Ergebnis nach der Implementierung von Testify: Mehr Effizienz, bessere Daten, hervorragende Produkt- und Servicequalität.


Alternative Text

Erhebliche Zeiteinsparung bei der Wareneingangsprüfung.

Die Überprüfung eines Überseecontainers dauerte vor dem Einsatz von Testify in der Regel etwa 3 Tage. Das lag vor allem daran, dass die Ware zuvor ausgeladen werden musste, um dann die Qualitätskriterien mithilfe der Excel-Liste sorgfältig zu dokumentieren. Mit dem Einsatz von Testify erfolgt die Wareneingangskontrolle nun in einem Tag.

Alternative Text

Verbesserte abteilungsübergreifende Kommunikation.

Die Zeitersparnis durch Testify beläuft sich nicht ausschließlich auf die Wareneingangkontrolle an sich. Auch die Vor- und Nachbereitung von Prüfungen funktioniert nun wesentlich effizienter, da alle Informationen digital abrufbereit sind. Zudem sind die Abläufe wesentlich transparenter.

Weitere digitale Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden.


Home > Erhebliche Zeiteinsparung bei Wareneingangsprüfungen mit Testify in der Karl Oswald GmbH & Co. KG.